Ziqin XU of Brandeis University: SUSTech Campus Is as Beautiful as a Wetland Park!

Ziqin XU of Brandeis University: SUSTech Campus Is as Beautiful as a Wetland Park!

2021-03-13 Non-degree

First of all, I would like to thank Brandeis University for allowing me to experience China's domestic university life in Shenzhen's Southern University of Science and Technology for the last semester before my graduation!

Because of the COVID-19 epidemic, many international students went back to their home countries. And after lying in the United States for half a year and then returning home lying for another two months, I couldn't stand it anymore. By chance, I saw the cooperation program between my university (Brandeis University) and Shenzhen Southern University of Science and Technology, and I was impressed! After learning about the comments on SUSTech, I decided to take it a try to apply. It took a lot of twists and turns, but I finally came!

Accommodation
The accommodation fee for undergraduates is ¥600/month, 4 people per room, and the dormitory is divided into male and female floors. You need to scan your face to enter the dormitory building, do extra face-scanning when entering the girl's floor, and use the campus card to get into the room. The floor I live on is new, with common restrooms and showers, but they are cleaned twice a day by an aunt. Each floor also has a refrigerator and hot water machine. Common laundry room is on the first floor with washing machines and dryers, free to use ~

Cafeteria
There are several student cafeterias on campus, and they taste good, but international students need to pay an extra administrative fee, so you can choose Starbucks/KFC/Miandianwang Restaurant on campus or order take-out ~

Transportation / Surroundings
The campus of SUSTech is very big, and school buses run every 10 minutes. There is a small shopping complex with cinemas/restaurants/supermarkets, etc. outside the main gate. Right next to the campus is the Shenzhen Metro Line 5.

Regulations during the epidemic
I received an email before I came that SUSTech exercised strict control over campus entry, and I was scared to death that I wouldn't be able to leave the campus. In fact, if you leave and return the campus the same day without leaving Shenzhen, you only need to send an email to report. if you want to stay off-campus a little longer, you need to apply in advance one working day by email. In addition, you need to fill out a daily health report.

Learning / Facilities
Many teachers at SUSTech have experience in studying abroad, and their English is very good, and many classes are bilingual. I liked many of the classes I attended, but because my school requires that our courses be the main focus, I chose to attend the classes for now.
SUSTech currently has three libraries, self-checkout is very convenient, the library room can also be self-booked for group study/discussion. Basketball/tennis courts are also available for reservation! If you love sports, go for it!

In conclusion: SUSTech is a very international university in China now! For me, I quickly adapted and liked the life here. The university is really not short of money, and the campus is as beautiful as a wetland park!

 

Text / Photo by Ziqin XU

Global Embracement Students Visit BGI – CNGB

Global Embracement Students Visit BGI - CNGB

2021-04-12 Non-degree

The pandemic of COVID-19 is still not over worldwide, but students of SUSTech's Global Embracement program do not stop exploring Shenzhen. After the last visit to Shenzhen Seeed Studio and Chaihuo makers, on the afternoon of April 9, teachers of SUSTech Global and students of Global Embracement went to Beijing Genomics Institute(BGI) - China National GeneBank located in Dapeng New District in Shenzhen to learn more about this frontier institution in life sciences.

Founded in 1999, BGI is the world's leading life science frontier institution and the most innovative and powerful genomics research institution in China, which has completed the "Chinese part" of the International Human Genome Project (1%, undertaking most of the work). The China National GeneBank(CNGB), which was approved by the National Development and Reform Commission and other three ministries and commissions for construction in Shenzhen in 2011, and is built and operated by BGI, is the first gene bank in China and is among the world's leading gene banks.

The BGI - CNGB is located in the "Hetangzai" site in Dapeng New District, Shenzhen, and it is built on a mountain with a beautiful environment. The students first watched the promotional video of BGI and listened to the teachers of BGI College introducing the origin of life, the development of BGI and the frontier applications of gene technology.

According to the teacher of BGI College, the CNGB has initially built a business structure of "three repositories and two platforms", with "repositories" being the biological sample repository, bioinformatics repository and living animal and plant resources repository; "two platforms" are the digitization platform and synthesis and editing platform.

Afterwards, the students visited the exhibition hall of the gene bank and learned about the high-throughput gene sequencing room, supercomputing room and other advanced genetic research equipment.

In the discussion session afterwards, many students from biology and life science related majors raised many professional questions, which were answered by the host teachers of BGI College.

In addition to the advanced genetic research equipment in the laboratory, the students were also impressed by the spacious and open office atmosphere, the natural working environment and the living plant and animal resources of the BGI - CNGB.

The "Global Embracement - Walking in Shenzhen" event has been conducted for three times, and we will continue to visit more institutions and enterprises with our Global Embracement students in the future to "enter Pengcheng and approach Shenzhen".

 

Text by Boqiang DU

Photo by Boqiang DU / Luo LEI

SUSTech Welcomes Students of Global Embracement Program Coming from across China

SUSTech Welcomes Students of Global Embracement Program Coming from across China

2021-01-13 Non-degree

New Year's Day has just passed and the new semester is already in full swing! Due to the continued impact of the COVID-19 epidemic, SUSTech launched the second phase of the Global Embracement program, accepting Chinese domestic students from partner institutions in North America such as University of Toronto, Rutgers University, Rice University, Stony Brook University, Temple University, University of Southern California, and Brandeis University to study at SUSTech. 122 international exchange students gathered at SUSTech on January 7 to begin their journey at SUSTech.

In order to let the students get to know SUSTech and its resources and facilities as soon as possible, and to have enough time to explore the campus and build friendships, SUSTech Global arranged a full and tight schedule in the "first class at SUSTech", inviting teachers from Teaching Affairs Office, Graduate School, Residential Colleges, University Library and a police officer to give the students a comprehensive introduction to study, life and safety.

To our valuable members: Study and life guide of SUSTech
Though the wind felt cold on the morning of January 8, the atmosphere in room 101, student dormitory 11 was warm. Ms. Jing Long, Associate Director of SUSTech Global, started her speech by warmly welcoming the international exchange students to SUSTech.

Ms. Long said that although the students came from different partner institutions and their visiting time in SUSTech may be long or short, they were valuable members of SUSTech. Long hoped that visiting students would make good use of the learning environment and resources provided by the university, and that their learning experience in SUSTech would be pleasant and inspiring.

Afterwards, Ms. Fang Wang and Ms. Wenni Lai from the SUSTech Global introduced the campus and students regulations of SUSTech, especially elaborated on the epidemic prevention measures. Ms. Zhihan Huang and Mr. Yuyang Zou from the Graduate School explained the course selection and accommodation rules for graduate students.

For undergraduates, Ms. Chunying Wang and Ms. Huili Fan from Teaching Affairs Office explained the regulations of course selection and examinations for undergraduates.

Finally, Mr. Zhenyu Liang, counselor of Shuli College, introduced various problems and precautions that students may encounter in the dormitory life on behalf of the college, and Ms. Lixinyu Yang, the resident counselor of Shulin College, also shared the guide of living in SUSTech.

Good assistant outisde class: Tips of SUSTech library
In addition to studying in class, the library is the most important place for students to study, find information and discuss outside class. Ms. Yixi Zhang from the library explained to students how to borrow paper books/journals/reference books, how to use electronic databases such as online journals, and how to reserve discussion rooms.

Guarding the campus guarding you: Safety education from on-campus police officer
In addition to university teachers, SUSTech Global also invited Officer Qiang Xu, an on-campus police officer of Tanglang Police Station with more than 10 years of experience, to give a speech about campus safety. Xu said the two top priorities were the prevention of COVID-19 and telecommunication fraud. During the special period, Officer Xu once again reminded students to wear masks when they go out, and to wash their hands frequently, open windows and keep social distance. Regarding the prevention of telecommunication fraud, Officer Xu used movie clips to explain in depth the possible methods of criminals and what students need to pay attention to.

The 122 international exchange students departed from their journey at SUSTech, and the university will welcome the second group of international exchange students in February this year. We wish the students a happy life at SUSTech, and make unforgettable memories during their short exchange time.

 

Text / Photo By Boqiang DU

Edited by Fang WANG / Guanying DENG

SUSTech International Semester Programs(Non-degree)

SUSTech International Semester Programs(Non-degree)

2021-03-19 Non-degree

Southern University of Science and Technology(SUSTech) has been actively building a global network and deepening cooperation with universities and institutions around the world. With multi-level agreements, SUSTech has established close cooperation relationships with over 100 universities and institutions worldwide, while vigorously promoting student exchanges and cooperation. SUSTech offers a variety of international student programs such as semester visiting/exchange programs, short-term research programs, innovation and entrepreneurship programs, and language and cultural experience programs, providing international exchange students with rich research and curriculum options.

The SUSTech international semester programs(non-degree) have two forms: visiting program and exchange program, both of which are semester-based course-taking programs. The exchange program is tuition-free, and students participating in the program can take SUSTech courses and attend the same classes with SUSTech students. Exchange program is currently only available to SUSTech's overseas partner institutions.

 

Admission Requirements

- Students registered at SUSTech's overseas partner institutions

- Fluent in Chinese or English

- Agree with SUSTech’s educational philosophy

- Physically and mentally healthy, with the ability to adapt to new environment

 

Program Duration

Fall Semester 2021: September 2, 2021 - January 14, 2022

 

Application Dates

Nomination deadline for partner institutions: May 5, 2021

Application deadline for nominated students to complete the registration of SUSTech International Student Information System: May 16, 2021

 

Application Process

1. Applicants apply to their home universities

2. Home universities select and nominate students to SUSTech (Download the Nomination Form)

3. Nominated students complete the registration of SUSTech International Student Information System

4. SUSTech will review and decide the admission list

 

Course Information

All courses at SUSTech are open to students on the admission list, but some courses may have prerequisites. If the number of students taking the course has reached the maximum number, students need to take other courses instead.

Course Information can be found at:

https://course-tao.sustech.edu.cn/kcxxweb/KcxxwebEnglishPC

The courses offered each semester may be adjusted, an email will be sent to the contact person at the partner institution once the schedule is finalized.

 

Fees

- Tuition fee: RMB 15,000/semester/person (for visiting programs). Tuition fee is waived for exchange programs.

- Accommodation fee:

RMB 600/month/person (quadruple room for undergraduate students)

RMB 800 /month/person (double room for master students)

RMB 1,500/month/person (single room for PhD students)

Students are responsible for their own living expenses, travel expenses, insurance, and personal expenses.

 

Insurance

Students participating in the program must have valid medical and accident insurance that is recognized in mainland China during their study. To those who have no insurance, SUSTech Global can help to purchase an insurance at their own expense.

Details and terms of use can be found at:

http://www.lxbx.net/article/baoxian-61.html

 

Accommodation and Food

SUSTech can provide on-campus dormitories for enrolled students, with quadruple rooms for undergraduates, double rooms for masters, and single rooms for PhD students. If on-campus housing is full, SUSTech will inform the home institutions in advance and will assist enrolled students in finding off-campus housing.

During the COVID-19 epidemic, all students are required to stay in on-campus student housing.

 

SUSTech will provide the international students with a campus card, which can be recharged to allow them to eat in the on-campus cafeteria and use on-campus facilities.

 

Contact Us

Address: No. 1088 Xueyuan Avenue, Nanshan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong Province

Tel: +86 (0755) 8801 0883

Email: visiting@sustech.edu.cn

 

University links

https://www.sustech.edu.cn/en/about.html?lang=en (About the University)

https://www.sustech.edu.cn/en/academician.html?lang=en (Faculty)

https://www.sustech.edu.cn/en/academics.html?lang=en#Colleges (Academics)

https://www.sustech.edu.cn/en/campus-life.html?lang=en (Campus Life)

布兰迪斯大学徐子钦:南科大美得像个湿地公园!

布兰迪斯大学徐子钦:南科大美得像个湿地公园!

2021-03-13 非学历项目

首先感谢Brandeis让即将毕业的我最后一个学期在深圳南方科技大学SUSTech体验到了国内的大学生活!
因为疫情的原因很多留学生都回国了,在美国躺了半年然后回国回国后在家又躺了两个月的我实在是受不了了,偶然的机会看到了我们学校(布兰迪斯大学)和深圳南方科技大学的合作项目,当时就心动了!在了解了一圈学校的评价后还是决定申请了试试!虽然历经波折但最后还是来啦~
住宿
本科生的住宿费¥600/月,4人一间,宿舍楼男女分层。需要刷脸进宿舍楼,女生楼层需要刷脸,进门刷学生卡。我住的楼层都是新的~公用的洗手间和淋浴间但是每天都有阿姨来清洁打扫两次,很干净!每层也有专用的冰箱和热水机一楼公用洗衣房,有洗衣机和烘干机,免费使用~
食堂
学校有几个学生餐厅,味道不错,但留学生需要额外管理费,所以可以选择校内的星巴克/肯德基/面点王或者点外卖~
交通/周边
南科大校园很大,校内有巴士,平时10min一班。学校一号门外就是一个小型综合体商场,有电影院/餐厅/超市等等,旁边就是深圳地铁五号线啦~
疫情期间管理
来之前收到邮件说南科大实施封闭式管理,当时吓死以为不会能出校门。其实不是的,当日进出校门不离深只需发邮件报备,如果要离开的久一点则需提前一个工作日邮件申请即可!另外需要每日填写健康申报。
学习/设施
南科大很多老师都有国外留学经验,英文都很不错,很多课都是中英双语教学。旁听了很多课都很喜欢,但因为我学校要求以本校的课程为主,所以我暂时选择旁听。
学校目前有三个图书馆,自助借还书很方便,图书馆的房间也可以自助预约进行小组学习/讨论,篮球场/网球场均可预约!爱运动的冲!
总结:南科大是目前国内十分国际化的一所学校了!对于我来说很快就融入并喜欢上这里的生活了。学校真的不缺钱,美的像个湿地公园!
图文 / 徐子钦

Global Embracement项目同学走进深圳华大基因-国家基因库

Global Embracement项目同学走进深圳华大基因-国家基因库

2021-04-12 非学位项目

全球新冠疫情仍未终结,但南科大Global Embracement项目的小伙伴们探索深圳的脚步也不曾停止~继上次参访深圳矽递科技和柴火众创空间之后,4月9日下午,国际合作部的老师与同学们一同前往位于大鹏新区的深圳华大基因-国家基因库,了解这所生命科学前沿机构的前世今生。

华大基因成立于1999年,是全球领先的生命科学前沿机构,也是中国最具创新精神和科研实力的基因组学研究机构,曾完成国际人类基因组计划“中国部分”(1%,承担其中绝大部分工作)。国家基因库于2011年由国家发改委等四部委批复在深圳建设,由华大基因研究院承建并运营,是中国首个、世界领先的国家级综合性基因库。

华大基因-国家基因库位于深圳市大鹏新区的“禾塘仔”地块,依山而建,环境优美。同学们首先观看华大基因-国家基因库的宣传片,听取华大基因研究院的老师介绍了生命的起源、华大基因的发展历程,以及基因科技的前沿应用。

据华大基因研究院的老师介绍,国家基因库已初步建成了“三库两平台”的业务架构,“库”为生物样本资源库、生物信息数据库和动植物资源活体库;“两平台”为数字化平台、合成与编辑平台。以生物资源的存、读、写能力为基础,实现样本、数据、活体全贯穿,搭建起基因资源挖掘的公益性、开放性、支撑性、引领性服务平台,促进基因组学在精准医学、精准健康、未来农业、海洋开发、微生物应用等方面的前沿探索与产业转化,真正实现基因资源的共有、共为、共享。

随后,同学们参观了基因库的展厅,了解了高通量基因测序房、超级计算房等先进的基因研究设备。

在之后的座谈环节,不少生物及生命科学相关专业的同学们还针对性地提出了许多专业的问题,接待老师们都一一进行了解答。

除了实验室里先进的基因研究设备外,华大基因-国家基因库宽敞开放的办公氛围、与自然融为一体的工作环境和动植物资源活体库也让同学们印象深刻。

“Global Embracement · 行走深圳”活动已经进行了三期,未来我们也将继续与同学们一起走进更多的机构和企业,一起“走进鹏城,走近深圳”。

 

文字 / 杜博强

摄影 / 杜博强、雷洛

第二期Global Embracement项目正式开启 南科大再迎国际交换新生

第二期Global Embracement项目正式开启 南科大再迎国际交换新生

2021-01-13 非学位项目

元旦刚过,新学期的气息已经扑面而来!由于疫情的持续影响,南方科技大学启动第二期Global Embracement项目,接收了来自北美多伦多大学、罗格斯大学、莱斯大学、石溪大学、天普大学、南加州大学、布兰迪斯大学等合作高校的中国境内同学来校学习。1月7日, 122名国际交换生齐聚南科大,开启南科大学习之旅。

为了让同学们最快地了解南科大及校内的各种资源和设施,又能有充分的时间探索校园,建立友谊,国际合作部在入学“第一课”当天安排了充实而紧密的行程,邀请教学工作部、研究生院、书院、图书馆老师及警务室警官为同学们进行学习、生活和安全等全方位的介绍与教育。

送给我们宝贵的一员:南科大学习与生活指南

1月8日上午的寒风喧嚣,但学生宿舍11栋101活动室内的氛围却十分火热。南方科技大学国际合作部龙静副部长首先致辞,热烈欢迎国际交换生来到南科大!龙静老师表示,虽然同学们来自不同的派出院校,在南科大交流的时间有长有短,但来到这里就是南科大的宝贵一员,希望同学们利用好南科大提供的学习环境和资源,在南科大的学习经历愉快而富有启发。

随后,国际部的王芳和赖温妮老师详细介绍了南方科技大学的校园及管理规定,对疫情期间的防疫措施和进出校园申请报备进行了尤为详细的阐述。来自研究生院的黄知涵、邹雨杨老师则对研究生同学的选课和住宿规定进行了讲解。

本科生方面,则由来自教学工作部的王春颖和樊慧莉老师为同学们详解了本科生的选课及考试的各种规定。

最后,还有来自树仁书院的辅导员梁振宇老师代表书院方面为同学们介绍了宿舍生活中可能遇到的各种问题和注意事项,树礼书院驻院辅导员杨丽欣雨老师也为同学们分享了在南科大的生活指南。

课前课后好助手:南科大图书馆攻略

除了课堂上的学习,图书馆可算是同学们课外学习、查找资料、讨论问题的最重要去处。图书馆的张依兮老师用非常详尽的幻灯片和细心专业的话语,向同学们讲解了图书馆纸质图书/期刊/参考书的借阅方式、网上期刊等电子数据库的使用方式和注意事项,以及讨论间的预订等内容,帮同学们快速上手图书馆各种资源的使用。

守护校园守护你:驻校民警带来安全教育

除学校的老师之外,国际部还邀请了有十多年警龄的塘朗派出所驻校民警徐强警官为大家进行了校园安全教育。在徐警官耐心又不失幽默的讲解中,新冠病毒和电信诈骗的防范是两个重中之重。特殊时期,徐警官再次提醒同学们出门一定要戴好口罩,并做到勤洗手消毒、开窗通风以及保持社交距离。关于防范电信诈骗,徐警官则用电影桥段深入浅出地为同学们讲解了犯罪分子的可能的作案手段和同学们需要注意的地方,并且引导大家关注反诈骗公众号,及时收取相关的防骗信息,也为自己的家人和朋友做好科普和宣传。

虽然特殊时期下,同学们不得不接受测温、戴上口罩、隔离就坐,少了交流,但是全是干货的介绍让同学们收获满满。

122名国际交换生同学在南科大之旅就此启程,今年2月,我校还将迎来第二批国际交换生。祝愿同学们在南科大生活愉快,学有所获,在短暂的交换时光里留下难忘的记忆。

 

图文 / 杜博强

编辑 / 王芳、邓冠英

南方科技大学国际学期项目(非学位)

南方科技大学国际学期项目(非学位)

2021-03-19 非学位项目

南方科技大学不断积极架设全球网络,深化与全球高校的合作,已与全球100多所高校建立了交流合作关系,签署多层次校际协议,大力促进学生交流。南科大开设学期交流/交换项目、短期科研项目、创新创业项目、语言文化体验项目等多类型国际学生项目,为来校交流的国际生提供丰富的科研和课程选择。

南方科技大学国际学期项目分为交流项目和交换项目两种形式,均为学期制课程项目,交换项目免交学费,参加项目学生可选修南科大课程,与南科大本校学生同堂上课,目前该项目仅面向南科大境外合作院校招生。

 

申请条件:

- 南科大境外合作院校注册在籍学生

- 中文或英文流利

- 认同南科大教育理念

- 身心健康,具有适应新环境的能力

 

项目时长:

2021年秋季学期:2021年9月2日至2022年1月14日

 

申请日期:

派出院校提名截止日期:2021年5月5日

国际学生信息管理系统报名截止日期:2021年5月16日

 

申请流程:

1、申请者向其所在高校提出申请

2、派出院校选拔并提名至南科大(点击下载提名表

3、被提名学生完成南科大国际学生信息管理系统报名

4、南科大审核并决定录取名单

 

课程信息:

南科大所有课程对项目学生开放,部分课程需达到先修要求,如选课人数已达上限,需改选其他课程。

课程信息:https://course-tao.sustech.edu.cn/kcxxweb/queryKcxxwebListChinesePC

每学期所开课程将有所调整,具体请以当期课表为准。课表确定后将以邮件形式发送给合作院校联系人。

 

项目费用:

学费:15,000元人民币/学期/人(交流项目),交换项目免除学费。

住宿费:

600元人民币/月/人(本科生四人间)

800元人民币/月/人(硕士两人间)

1,500元人民币/月/人(博士单人间)

项目学生生活费、旅费、保险费、个人开支等自理。

 

保险:

参与项目学生必须持有中国大陆境内认可、且在读期间可正常使用的医疗及意外保险。如无保险,南科大国际合作部可帮助学生统一购买平安保险,费用由学生自理。

保险详情和条款请见:http://www.lxbx.net/article/baoxian-61.html

 

住宿及餐饮:

南科大可为项目学生提供校内学生宿舍,本科生四人间,硕士两人间,博士单人间,住宿费由学生自行承担。如校内住宿已满,南科大将提前告知派出院校,并将协助学生寻找校外住宿。

疫情期间,所有项目学生须入住校内学生宿舍。

 

南科大将为项目学生提供校园卡,充值后可在校内食堂就餐,使用校内设施。

 

联系方式:

地址:广东省深圳市南山区学苑大道1088号

电话:+86(0755)8801 0883

电子邮箱:visiting@sustech.edu.cn

 

学校常用链接:

https://www.sustech.edu.cn/zh/about.html(学校概况)

https://www.sustech.edu.cn/zh/academician.html(师资高层次人才)

https://www.sustech.edu.cn/zh/academics.html(教育教学)

https://www.sustech.edu.cn/zh/campus-life.html(学生生活)