President Chen delivers keynote speech at YICAI Technology and Innovation Conference on universities in the Bay Area

President Chen delivers keynote speech at YICAI Technology and Innovation Conference on universities in the Bay Area

Nov 3, 2017 Latest

On November 2, 2017, President Chen Shiyi was invited to attend the 2017 YICAI Technology and Innovation Conference Shenzhen Forum where he gave a keynote speech entitled "Top Universities in the Bay Area, and Building Shenzhen into a Future City”.


Chen Shiyi’s speech

In his speech, Chen pointed out that world-famous historical bay areas such as London, New York and San Francisco played an important role in previous industrial revolutions. Currently, the fourth industrial revolution is looming and Shenzhen should leverage the development of the Bay Area in Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao to make the most of the opportunities arising. It is therefore critical to improve higher education in order to lead future development. He said: "Without a major university, a city is incomplete, and higher education in the Bay Area is a key element for development". He compared the universities in the Bay Area to well-known domestic cities, pointing out that Shenzhen is the most recent metropolis in the region and strong universities are a necessary requirement for strong cities. He said Shenzhen should continue to promote the integration of science and education, strengthen cooperation with Hong Kong, Macao and other cities, learn from advanced experiences and make great achievements in its universities in order to become a world class city.

Tony F. Chan, President of Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and Li Qingquan, President of Shenzhen University also attended the forum and delivered speeches.


Round table discussion

After the speech, Chen Shiyi, Tony F. Chan and Li Qingquan conducted discussions on the current situation under the chairmanship of Zhang Lifen, the chief financial adviser of YICAI and professor of Fudan University's School of Journalism. They discussed development strategies, cooperation and exchange programs and resource allocation for higher education in Shenzhen and Hong Kong.

YICAI Technology and Innovation Conference was held by financial media group First Financial Group. After two consecutive years in Shanghai, it was moved to Shenzhen.

The forum follows the theme of "Making the Future happen", and during the two-day forum on November 2-3, there were around ten keynote speeches and round-table discussions focusing on Shenzhen's university system and talent innovation. The Shenzhen Bay Area's Opportunities and challenges was one of the most discussed points.

Live link: http: //www.yicai.com/live/5350954.html

Text: Lao Xiangwen
​Translated by: Jeremy Welburn

陈十一校长在第一财经技术与创新大会作主题演讲畅论在大湾区崛起中布局一流大学

陈十一校长在第一财经技术与创新大会作主题演讲畅论在大湾区崛起中布局一流大学

2017-11-03 综合新闻

2017年11月2日,陈十一校长应邀出席2017第一财经技术与创新大会深圳论坛,并作“在大湾区的崛起中布局一流大学,让未来之城成为可能”主题演讲。


陈十一演讲

演讲中,陈十一指出,伦敦、纽约、旧金山等世界著名湾区在前几次工业革命中发挥了重要作用,当前第四次工业革命蓄势待发,深圳应该把握粤港澳大湾区崛起机遇,做好高等教育布局工作,引领未来发展。他表示,“没有一所大学的城市是一个不完整的城市,高等教育和城市湾区是一个互动的载体。”他对比了湾区和国内著名城市的大学情况,指出深圳最大的短板就是高等教育,大学强是城市强的必要条件,深圳应把高等教育的提升作为深圳战略发展的重要核心点,不断推动科教结合,加强与香港澳门等的合作,吸收先进经验,让伟大的大学成就一个伟大的城市。

香港科技大学校长陈繁昌、深圳大学校长李清泉也出席了论坛并作演讲。


圆桌讨论

演讲环节之后,在第一财经首席顾问、复旦大学新闻学院教授张力奋主持下,陈十一与陈繁昌、李清泉就深港两地高等教育现状、发展策略、合作交流、资源配置等问题进行讨论。陈十一谈到,当前深圳多种形式地办大学符合深圳这个特殊的历史时期需要。未来,深圳应充分利用大湾区崛起的机遇,立足深圳布局一流大学,让高等教育在支撑深圳经济社会发展的过程中发挥更大的作用。

据了解,第一财经技术与创新大会由财经全媒体集团第一财经主办,在上海连续举办两年后,移师深圳举办。此次论坛沿用了“让未来发生”这一主题,在11月2-3日为期两天的论坛中有近十场主题演讲与圆桌讨论,围绕深圳的大学体系与人才创新、深圳湾区的机遇与挑战等热点话题展开。

直播链接:http://www.yicai.com/live/5350954.html

文字:劳湘雯