Ziqin XU of Brandeis University: SUSTech Campus Is as Beautiful as a Wetland Park!

Ziqin XU of Brandeis University: SUSTech Campus Is as Beautiful as a Wetland Park!

2021-03-13 Non-degree

First of all, I would like to thank Brandeis University for allowing me to experience China's domestic university life in Shenzhen's Southern University of Science and Technology for the last semester before my graduation!

Because of the COVID-19 epidemic, many international students went back to their home countries. And after lying in the United States for half a year and then returning home lying for another two months, I couldn't stand it anymore. By chance, I saw the cooperation program between my university (Brandeis University) and Shenzhen Southern University of Science and Technology, and I was impressed! After learning about the comments on SUSTech, I decided to take it a try to apply. It took a lot of twists and turns, but I finally came!

Accommodation
The accommodation fee for undergraduates is ¥600/month, 4 people per room, and the dormitory is divided into male and female floors. You need to scan your face to enter the dormitory building, do extra face-scanning when entering the girl's floor, and use the campus card to get into the room. The floor I live on is new, with common restrooms and showers, but they are cleaned twice a day by an aunt. Each floor also has a refrigerator and hot water machine. Common laundry room is on the first floor with washing machines and dryers, free to use ~

Cafeteria
There are several student cafeterias on campus, and they taste good, but international students need to pay an extra administrative fee, so you can choose Starbucks/KFC/Miandianwang Restaurant on campus or order take-out ~

Transportation / Surroundings
The campus of SUSTech is very big, and school buses run every 10 minutes. There is a small shopping complex with cinemas/restaurants/supermarkets, etc. outside the main gate. Right next to the campus is the Shenzhen Metro Line 5.

Regulations during the epidemic
I received an email before I came that SUSTech exercised strict control over campus entry, and I was scared to death that I wouldn't be able to leave the campus. In fact, if you leave and return the campus the same day without leaving Shenzhen, you only need to send an email to report. if you want to stay off-campus a little longer, you need to apply in advance one working day by email. In addition, you need to fill out a daily health report.

Learning / Facilities
Many teachers at SUSTech have experience in studying abroad, and their English is very good, and many classes are bilingual. I liked many of the classes I attended, but because my school requires that our courses be the main focus, I chose to attend the classes for now.
SUSTech currently has three libraries, self-checkout is very convenient, the library room can also be self-booked for group study/discussion. Basketball/tennis courts are also available for reservation! If you love sports, go for it!

In conclusion: SUSTech is a very international university in China now! For me, I quickly adapted and liked the life here. The university is really not short of money, and the campus is as beautiful as a wetland park!

 

Text / Photo by Ziqin XU

布兰迪斯大学徐子钦:南科大美得像个湿地公园!

布兰迪斯大学徐子钦:南科大美得像个湿地公园!

2021-03-13 非学历项目

首先感谢Brandeis让即将毕业的我最后一个学期在深圳南方科技大学SUSTech体验到了国内的大学生活!
因为疫情的原因很多留学生都回国了,在美国躺了半年然后回国回国后在家又躺了两个月的我实在是受不了了,偶然的机会看到了我们学校(布兰迪斯大学)和深圳南方科技大学的合作项目,当时就心动了!在了解了一圈学校的评价后还是决定申请了试试!虽然历经波折但最后还是来啦~
住宿
本科生的住宿费¥600/月,4人一间,宿舍楼男女分层。需要刷脸进宿舍楼,女生楼层需要刷脸,进门刷学生卡。我住的楼层都是新的~公用的洗手间和淋浴间但是每天都有阿姨来清洁打扫两次,很干净!每层也有专用的冰箱和热水机一楼公用洗衣房,有洗衣机和烘干机,免费使用~
食堂
学校有几个学生餐厅,味道不错,但留学生需要额外管理费,所以可以选择校内的星巴克/肯德基/面点王或者点外卖~
交通/周边
南科大校园很大,校内有巴士,平时10min一班。学校一号门外就是一个小型综合体商场,有电影院/餐厅/超市等等,旁边就是深圳地铁五号线啦~
疫情期间管理
来之前收到邮件说南科大实施封闭式管理,当时吓死以为不会能出校门。其实不是的,当日进出校门不离深只需发邮件报备,如果要离开的久一点则需提前一个工作日邮件申请即可!另外需要每日填写健康申报。
学习/设施
南科大很多老师都有国外留学经验,英文都很不错,很多课都是中英双语教学。旁听了很多课都很喜欢,但因为我学校要求以本校的课程为主,所以我暂时选择旁听。
学校目前有三个图书馆,自助借还书很方便,图书馆的房间也可以自助预约进行小组学习/讨论,篮球场/网球场均可预约!爱运动的冲!
总结:南科大是目前国内十分国际化的一所学校了!对于我来说很快就融入并喜欢上这里的生活了。学校真的不缺钱,美的像个湿地公园!
图文 / 徐子钦